Responses to Workshops

On the page I will display the experiments that I have done is response to the workshops that we completed.

img_2220
Embroidery

This piece was made in response to our first ‘Beyond Photography’ workshop. It was all about using textiles in our work and experimenting with embroidery. I used an archived image I found of my grandmother and traced out a simple design, I then used hand embroidary to go over the pattern. In school I never excelled in textiles so I tried to stick to simple lines and patterns, but I still found in difficult. This was an idea that I was interested in for the project, but after some failed experiments I decided it wasn’t for me. The embroidery in this image is basic and I was just experimenting with matching the colours to the photograph its self, if I was to do this again I would probably experiment with more contextual ideas, and look into the history of textiles and textiles in photography.

img_2217
Large Format

This portrait was shot on a large format camera, using 5×4 negatives to print. This experimentation was all about the details that a large format camera picks up. I shot on black and white 5×4 film in the studio, and set up the lights for maximum detail in the image. Portraiture is a key aspect of photography that interests me, and using the large format to print on a large scale and still getting crisp clear images is amazing to me. I enjoy experimenting with the large format cameras because the process is slowed right down and each step is vital. This process is definitely something I will consider when shooting for this project.

img_2218
Liquid Light

This image was also shot on a large format camera, I then used the process of Liquid Light to print to the image in the dark room. I love the texture this process brings to the image, and the way that you can use this process on nearly every material and surface, as long as its flat. Learning this process was so fun, and there are so many different paths you can take with it, when doing it again i will experiment with applying the light emulsion in different ways and patterns. I would also like to experiment with different materials. Part of this process that I enjoyed the most is the hard processing element, I like to have control over how developed the image is, It is also the most satisfying feeling watching the image that you have created develop.

This was a series of images that myself and a fellow student created in response to the Data lecture. In this lecture we learnt all the ways data is collected and used in photography, we looked at glitching images and changing their data, the way that people use photographs to collect data, the way that people use images shot by other photographers and make them their own, and the way that google earth is used by photographers.In response to this, myself and my friend created a series using google earth, we named it ‘Up’. The inspiration from this came from our different backgrounds, me being from England, and her being from Italy. We got the idea from the way that when you are on a plane, as soon as you fly over your home country you recognise it straight away, just from the landscape from that birds eye view. We wanted the series to be of images that we beyond the naked eye, beyond the way that we normally see the world around us. Each image is made up from two screenshots taken from google earth, on the left we have the UK and on the right the Italian landscape. We wanted to show the similarities and differences between the two european countries, we also looked for small parts of the images that link up, like rivers or roads and join between the two images, to show that despite the differences in nationalities we all link in one way or another. If I was to look into using google earth again, I would look into the controversy caused by other artists using this method, the right to use people in their work for example, and the argument that this is not photography.

These images are were created in response to the workshop where we learnt the process of silkscreening. This method of printing has many different stages, but means you can print digital images onto nearly any flat surface, fabric, wood, tiles etc. For this experiment I wanted to use bright contrasting colours to really see the effects that silkscreening has on images. I used the process of having the image printed onto the boards and then using ink to print the images onto paper, and then heat transferring them onto silk. There is also a method of having digital images printed and transferring them straight onto the silk, this way you keep the colours of the original image, but for the sake of experimentation I wanted to create bold images with lots of colour.

As part of the ‘Beyond Photography’ unit, we have been looking into the ‘Archive’ and archived images. Images from our own family archives and found images, I have always enjoyed looking at the old family images, looking at the different fashions and styles, and learning about you families history. We then had a workshop about collaging and story boards, so in response to this I used images from my family archive to create a storyboard of my grandparents life. Having recently lost my granddad, of who I was extremely close to, looking at old photographs of him with my grandmother is something that is very close to my heart. Their love story is inspirational and is way inspired this storyboard. They were together from the age of 15 so their lives ran along side each other from a young age, demonstrated in the collage. They were married in their early 20s, and stayed married for 50 long years until my granddad passed just last year. I wanted the story board to show the way their lives were always connected until they become one on their wedding day. Looking back at the collage now, I think that the story would have been more affective had I cut off the heads of the images, until their wedding picture, to show that they were incomplete until they finally married and completed one and other.

As another part of the  ‘Beyond Photography’ unit, we experimented with photograms. Photograms are one of the oldest techniques of photography, they are created simply by exposing light sensitive paper and pressing it against objects or leaving objects on the paper for the duration of the exposure. I made these images by using natural sun light to expose the paper and using whatever I could find to leave patterns and shapes. Although it is such a simple technique, it is fascinating to watch our prints appear, created just by natural light. After exposing my photographs, I scanned them into the computer so that I could edit them digitally. I uploaded the scanned copies onto photoshop and began experimenting, I overplayed images, changed the brightness and edited the contrast. I found it so interesting to put a modern twist on an old technique. The outcome was these bright, vibrant patterns and shapes.

To further our skills in this project we had a workshop on location lighting. In this workshop we went over how to set up and confidently use the portable lighting kits needed when you do a location shoot. We also learnt how to meter light properly and how to make sure you shoot with the right aperture, shutter speed and ISO for the light in the environment. I found this workshop incredibly helpful as I would be using this equipment for my shoots in this project. We focussed on ways to get the best skin tones on the face, something that was also helpful to me as I am shooting portraits for this unit. The aim for these is images was to achieve a soft natural look, using the lighting to help lift the face and bring out the subject.

All the workshops in this project have helped me develop my skills and learn new techniques of photography and printing. They have built my confidence in techniques that I already knew and has provided me with the skills to develop my project in different ways. As this unit is ‘Beyond Photography’, these workshops have abled me to use methods that aren’t the standard photography techniques used in this generation. I have learnt something from all the workshops, but the one that interested me the most is the liquid light technique of printing and this is something I will use in this project. I love the gritty tones and textures that you can create using this method, and this aesthetic fits perfectly with my theme and the style of my work in my project.

 

Leave a Reply

